Unexpected journey to Yangon

It has been a while since the last time I posted an article into this blog, Well, I guess this is going to be a perfect timing to write something new as I just got back from Yangon, the former capital city of Myanmar.

To begin with, at first, I did not expect to travel to Myanmar. Firstly, I desired to book a ticket to Singapore but then my friend texted me and invited me for a trip to Yangon. I was in total confusion. I really wanted to go to Singapore because it was just in time to Garuda Indonesia Travel Fair so I expected to get cheap fares. However, in other side, there was a strong force saying that I could not miss my friend’s invitation like “dude, you have never been to Myanmar before and this is just a right time”. I spent like one night long just to figure it out. Then, I came up to decision that I would go with Yangon’s trip no matter what, so ticket was booked!

IMG_1029
self-made itinerary

I departed to Yangon on April 19th, 2017. I had to have a transit in Kuala Lumpur. My flight from Bali to Kuala Lumpur took off at 21.20 AM and arrived in Kuala Lumpur around 00.20 PM, 3 hours flight. As I landed at KLIA2, I needed to spend 6 hours of layover. Thankfully, KLIA2 is equipped with extensive selection of food vendors, free Wi-Fi for 24 hours, seating areas, electricity socket, duty free area, and many more. As the night has gone by, a new day began. We left Kuala Lumpur for Yangon at 06.50 AM and arrived in Yangon International Airport on April 20th 2017 at 08.00 PM (Yangon’s local time is 1hr 30min behind Kuala Lumpur’s local time), so it was a 2hr 40min flight.

If you book a connecting flight, usually your luggages will be transferred directly and straightaway from departing airport to arriving airport. There is no need to claim your baggage at transiting airport, just go to transfer hall as soon as you arrive for transit.

Yangon International Airport. At first, I did not expect that Yangon’s Airport is so huge and designed in sophisticated architecture. The facilities across the airport are not limited as well. This airport really puts much effort in ensuring passenger’s comfort. Well done! This slideshow below will show you a glimpse of Yangon International Airport, photos taken by writer’s phone.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

After clearing immigration section, you will be directed straight to baggage claim area. Then, you will walk down your way to arriving hall (before that, you have to hand out custom declaration form to the staffs). There are some money changers, food kiosks, convenience store, sim card kiosks, information, and taxi pick-up stand. There are also a lot of locals offering a taxi ride at arrival hall.

 

For (sim card) internet operator, I chose Ooredoo. There are Ooredoo and Telenor stand adjacent to arrival hall’s flight board and next to a money changer. I had to pay 7,500 kyats for 3,5 GB internet use. For 2 GB internet use, we have to pay 5,000 kyats and there are number of choices for the data plan. It is valid for one month.

 

Myanmar’s local currency. For 1 USD, it is equal to 1,346 kyats (it is around 13,300 Rupiah).

EBE2EFB4-3075-400F-8F38-85F58526C30F
Myanmar’s local currency

 

This is the common signboard that you will find before you enter every pagoda or temple in Myanmar.

IMG_1211

This is my expenses at the airport. Just to let you know if you are wondering the prices of living cost there.

FullSizeRender

 

And this is how electricity socket looks like in Myanmar (it is quite similar to the one in Malaysia).

IMG_1317

 

Well, that’s all for this article. I will write details of my Yangon trip on my next articles. I will separate it into Day 1 article, Day 2 article, and Day 3 article about my trip around Yangon. Stay tuned!

Thanks for stopping by at my blog.

Regards!

 

 

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑